ECTEL / About Us

About Us

The Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL) was established on 04 May, 2000, by Treaty signed in St. George’s, Grenada, by the Governments of five Eastern Caribbean States – Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

ECTEL is the regulatory body for telecommunications in its Member States. It is made up of three components – A Council of Ministers, a regional Directorate and a National Telecommunications Regulatory Commission (NTRC) in each Member State.

The Council of Ministers comprises the Ministers responsible for Telecommunications in the ECTEL States. The Director General of the OECS as an ex-officio member. Responsibilities include giving directives to the Board of Directors on matters arising out of the Treaty, and ensuring that the Board is responsive to the needs of the Member States in the implementation of telecommunications policy.

The Board of Directors comprises one member and an alternate from each Member State and the Managing Director of ECTEL as an ex-officio member. Responsibilities include making recommendations to the Council on any matter relating to telecommunications, and establishing rules and procedures consistent with the Treaty for the management and operation of the ECTEL Directorate.

The NTRCs – National Telecommunications Regulatory Commissions – are the Telecommunications regulators at the national level in each Member State. They are responsible for the processing of applications and advising the Minister on the award of licences.

  • 19.2%

    Broadband Penetration

  • 24.5%

    Fixed Line Penetration

  • 112.7%

    Mobile Voice Penetration

  • 50

    Active Individual Licensees

Council of Ministers
Senator the Honourable Oscar George
Minister of State in the Ministry of Telecommunications and Broadcasting

3rd Floor, Government Headquarters
Kennedy Avenue, Roseau
Commonwealth of Dominica
Tel: (767) 266 3294

Honourable Dennis Cornwall
Minister for Infrastructure and Physical Development, Public Utilities, Civil Aviation and Transportation

4th Floor, Ministerial Complex
Sir Eric Matthew Gairy Botanical Gardens
St. George’s
Tel: 1 (473) 440 2410

Honourable Konris G. M. Maynard, BSc, MEng
Minister of Public Infrastructure and Utilities, Transport, Information Communication and Technology, Posts

St. Christopher and Nevis

Honourable Stephenson King
Senior Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Ports, Transport, Physical Development and Urban Renewal

(Current Chairperson)

Union Complex
Saint Lucia
Tel: (758) 468 4302

Honourable Camillo M. Gonsalves
Minister of Finance, Economic Planning, Sustainable Development, and Information Technology

1st Floor, Administrative Bldg Bay Street
St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Tel: (784) 457 1746

Dr. Didacus Jules
Director General, Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

OECS Commission Morne Fortune
P.O. Box 179, Castries
Saint Lucia
Tel: (758) 455 6301
Fax: (758) 453 1628

Board of Directors
Mr. Gregory Shillingford

c/o  Dominica Social Security
Cnr. Hanover Street and Hilsborough Street
Commonwealth of Dominica

Mr. Duane Noel (Current Chairperson)

C/o National Insurance Scheme
Melville Street, St. George’s

Mr. Trevor Phipps

East Park Range
P. O. Box 579
St. Kitts

Mr. Philip Dalsou

Saint Lucia

Mr. Marc Richardson

St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Mrs. Cheryl Hector Fontenelle
Acting Managing Director, ECTEL

Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority
Level 5, Baywalk
P.O. Box BW395, Gros Islet, LC01 601
Saint Lucia
Phone: 1 (758) 458-1701/2
Fax: 1 (758) 458-1698